Shanghai (China)

Shanghai has a history of over 700 years. Since China started reform and opening-up in 1978, especially since the 1990s, Shanghai has been developing by leaps and bounds.

The city has a dynamic skyline and enjoys rapid economic and social progress. According to the latest master development plan, Shanghai aspires to become a modern metropolis and an international economic, financial, trade and shipping center by 2020.


  • 13,681,000 persons (2006)

Number of Households

  • 4,995,400 households (end of 2006)

Land Area

  • 6,340.5km2 (end of 2006)

Population Density

  • 2,157.7 perseons/km2 (end of 2006)

Gross City Product per Industry

    • Primary Industry: 1,234.2 million USD (0.9%)
    • Secondary Industry: 66,162.8 million USD (48.5%)
    • Tertiary Industry: 69,002.6 million USD (50.6%)
    • (end of 2006)

Number of Employees per Industry

    • Primary Industry: 0.4%
    • Secondary Industry: 46.0%
    • Tertiary Industry: 53.6%
    • (end of 2006)

Annual Income per Capita

  • 2,719.5 US dollar (urban) (end of 2006)

Major Industries and Products

    Electronic information, Automobile, Petrochemical, High-end steel, Machinery, Biomedical, New- and high-tech industries

Revenue of the city budget

  • Government fiscal revenue 21,057.5 million USD (end of 2006)

Number of City Employees

  • 7,522,600 persons (end of 2006)

Sister Cities (Countries), etc.

  • Yokohama (Japan), Osaka (Japan), Milan (Italy), Rotterdam (Netherlands), San Francisco (USA), Zagreb (Croatia), Osaka Prefecture (Japan), Hamhung (DPRK), Metro Manila (Philippines), Karachi (Pakistan), Antwerp (Belgium), Montreal (Canada), Piraeus (Greece), Pomorze (Poland), Hamburg (Germany), Casablanca (Morocco), Marseille (France), Sao Paulo (Brazil), St Petersburg (Russia), Queensland State (Australia), Istanbul (Turkey), Alexandria (Egypt), Haifa (Israel), Busan (South Korea), Ho Chi Minh City (Vietnam), Port Villa (Vanuatu), Dunedin (New Zealand), Tashkent (Uzbekistan), Porto (Portugal), Aden (Yemen), Windhoek (Namibia), Santiago Province (Cuba), Rosario (Argentina), Espoo (Finland), Jalisco State (Mexico), Liverpool (UK), Maputo (Mozambique), Chiangmai Province (Thailand), Dubai (UAE), KwaZulu Natal (South Africa), Guayaquil (Ecuador), Valparaiso (Chile), Barcelona (Spain), Oslo (Norway), Constanta County (Romania), Colombo (Sri Lanka), Gothenburg (Sweden), Bratislava Region (Slovakia), Aarhus County (Denmark), Cork (Ireland), East Java (Indonesia), Basel (Switzerland)

Shanghaiphoto1 Shanghaiphoto2 Shanghaiphoto3